PhonemaBlog

Best English Pronunciation Apps in 2026: Seven That Listen to You

Seven English pronunciation apps compared on the same columns: devices, who judges you, which accent, where your recordings go, what is free and the cheapest year. Listings checked on 17 September 2026.

Direct answer

For most learners the best choice is ELSA Speak or BoldVoice, the two apps here with tens of thousands of App Store ratings. ELSA suits you if you also want grammar and vocabulary. BoldVoice suits you if you want filmed lessons from dialect coaches and can pay 139,99 € a year. Speakometer is the cheapest, at 19,99 € a year, and the one to pick for British English. Speechling is the only one where a person corrects you, and Phonema is the only one that keeps your recordings on the phone.

We make Phonema, so read this as a comparison written by one of the seven companies in it. Every price, rating and device list below was read from the App Store and Google Play on 17 September 2026. Euro prices come from the Spanish storefront, so every row is in the same currency. Apple sets prices by region and two of these apps list ten offers at once, so the plan you are shown may differ.

If you already pay for ELSA and want to leave, the best ELSA Speak alternatives starts from why people leave it. This page is for picking a first app.

The table

Runs on Who judges you Accent it models Your recordings Free use Cheapest year
ELSA Speak iPhone, iPad, Vision Pro, Android AI on ELSA’s servers American Audio listed as data linked to you 7 days, then the first 2 lessons of each module 48,99 €
BoldVoice iPhone, iPad, Mac, Vision Pro, Android, web AI, plus filmed lessons from coaches American Stored and used to train its models 7 days, then the first lesson 139,99 €
Speakometer iPhone, iPad, Mac, Vision Pro, Android AI, location not stated American and British Not stated Free app, optional Premium 19,99 €
Accent Training iPhone, iPad, Mac, Vision Pro AI, location not stated American Not stated Free, with ads 22,99 €
Blue Canoe iPhone, Mac, Android, web AI built on the Color Vowel Chart Not stated Audio listed as data linked to you A card game with 200 common words 24,99 €
Speechling Web, iPhone, iPad, Mac, Vision Pro, Android A human coach Not stated Sent to Speechling and a coach Up to 10 coaching sessions a month, except in English No annual price shown; from $19.99 a month
Phonema iPhone, iPad, Mac, Vision Pro AI on your phone American Never leave the phone 5 analyses a day, no end date 39,99 €

“Cheapest year” is the lowest annual figure on the listing that day. ELSA’s Spanish listing carried ten products, from 11,90 € to 149,99 €. BoldVoice’s also carried ten, from 14,49 € to 179,99 €, so neither of those two numbers is a promise. Speechling bills in dollars from its own website, outside Apple. “Mac” and “Vision Pro” mean the iPhone or iPad app runs there, which Apple allows on Apple silicon Macs. The “Your recordings” column comes from each app’s App Store privacy label and privacy policy. Developers fill in those labels themselves, and every label carries the same notice: “This information has not been verified by Apple.”

How we chose the seven

An app made the list if it met three conditions on 17 September 2026:

  1. It listens to you and returns a judgement. Apps that only play a model pronunciation are left out, however good the recordings.
  2. It was updated in the last twelve months on at least one platform. Pronunciation scoring depends on speech models and on iOS versions, and an app that has not shipped in years is a risk you should know about before paying. Speechling’s iOS app has not been updated since May 2021, but its Android app was updated in January 2026 and its website is where coaching happens, so it stays.
  3. It is about English pronunciation. General speaking apps come later on this page, in their own section.

The order is not a ranking. The first two have the most ratings and the most complete products. Speakometer, Accent Training and Blue Canoe follow in order of price, and the last two work differently from the rest: one uses a human coach and the other scores on the phone.

Start from what you already know

A few facts about you rule out most of the list before you read a single review.

You have an Android phone. ELSA Speak, BoldVoice, Speakometer, Blue Canoe and Speechling all have Android apps; we found no Android version of Accent Training, and Phonema has none.

Your iPhone is old. Accent Training needs iOS 17.6 and Phonema needs iOS 17. ELSA needs iOS 16, BoldVoice and Speakometer iOS 15.5, and Blue Canoe iOS 12.4.

You want British English. Speakometer is the only maintained app here with a British model. It assesses Received Pronunciation as well as General American. Say It, further down, also has British recordings from Oxford, but it has not been updated since July 2025.

You want American English. Five of the seven apps here model American English, so this narrows nothing and the format decides. BoldVoice teaches with filmed lessons. Accent Training is a cheap course that starts with rhythm and intonation. ELSA is the broadest course, and Phonema scores sentences you bring.

You do not want your voice to leave the phone. Phonema is the only app on the list that says its scoring happens on the phone. ELSA and Blue Canoe list audio as data linked to you on their App Store labels. BoldVoice’s privacy policy says it stores voice samples and uses them to improve its models. Speechling sends your recordings to a coach, because that is the service. Speakometer and Accent Training say nothing either way.

You practise without a connection. Phonema scores in airplane mode because the model is inside the download. Speakometer states that its core practice can work offline. ELSA says in its FAQ that it needs a connection.

You will pay nothing. No app on this list scores you without limit for free, so choose the limit you can live with. Phonema allows 5 analyses a day with no end date. Accent Training is free if you accept ads. ELSA keeps the first 2 lessons of each module open after its trial.

ELSA Speak

ELSA has more ratings than any other app on this list, with 112,738 on the US App Store averaging 4.8 and 8,485 on the Spanish one. Its Android version was updated on 28 August 2026.

It is a full English course built around pronunciation. It scores each attempt down to the syllable and the sound, and adds grammar, vocabulary, AI conversation and a library its listing puts at more than 8,000 lessons. Its FAQ describes the goal as speaking “just like a native American speaker”. The same FAQ says “ELSA requires a strong, stable data connection to communicate with our server”, so there is no offline practice. The App Store label lists audio data among the data linked to you, and identifiers among the data used to track you. The US listing also states that the app contains advertising.

The free week gives you everything. After it, “The first 2 lessons of every module are always free.” The cheapest annual product on the Spanish listing was 48,99 €, among ten products. On the US listing it was $71.00, and the monthly plan was $19.99. Phonema vs ELSA Speak compares it with ours in detail.

BoldVoice

BoldVoice is the most expensive app on the list and the only one with filmed lessons. It has 53,542 ratings on the US App Store, averaging 4.8.

It combines AI scoring with filmed lessons from dialect coaches whom the company names and describes as having trained actors for Netflix, HBO and Marvel. It runs on every Apple device, on Android and in a browser, and its interface comes in eleven languages. It teaches one accent: its website calls itself an “American Accent Training App”, and its Spanish listing is titled BoldVoice: Acento Americano. British and Australian English appear only in its accent filter, which lets you “Hear yourself with an American, Australian, or British Accent” but does not teach either one.

Its privacy policy says BoldVoice “collects and stores voice samples to provide pronunciation feedback, enhance your learning experience, and improve our machine learning models”. An account is required.

The only annual product with a period in its name was 12 month Premium, at 139,99 € in Spain and $149.99 in the US. Phonema vs BoldVoice compares it with ours in detail.

Speakometer

Speakometer is built around words and sounds: a library of more than 65,000 words, colour-coded IPA on your result, minimal pairs, and separate assessment for Received Pronunciation and General American. Its facts page is marked “Last reviewed: 8 August 2026”. It says there is “No account required to begin practicing” and that “Core pronunciation practice can work offline”. The same page does not say where your audio is processed, and its privacy policy does not mention audio at all. Its App Store label lists no user content.

Premium cost 3,99 € a month, 14,99 € for six months or 19,99 € a year in Spain, and the annual price is the lowest on the list. In the US the same plans cost $4.99, $19.99 and $29.99. It has 2,079 ratings on the US App Store, averaging 4.7. Both the Android and iOS apps were updated in June 2026.

Accent Training

Accent Training, published by Andie Nguyen, teaches the melody of American English first. Stress, rhythm and intonation come before individual sounds. The listing describes word-by-word colour-coded scoring, a pitch display to match intonation patterns, minimal pairs, and an AI conversation partner, in lessons of three to five minutes with streaks and leagues. It has 11,059 ratings on the US App Store, averaging 4.6, and was last updated on 23 August 2026.

It is free with advertising. Removing the ads cost 5,99 € in Spain. The Plus plan cost 22,99 € a year or 1,99 € a month, the cheapest monthly plan on the list. Three points to check before paying. The privacy label lists advertising data and usage data, and nothing about audio. The privacy policy link on the listing returned a 404 error on 17 September 2026, so we could not find out where the scoring happens. And on the Spanish listing, the developer has not identified as a trader, and the listing warns that EU consumer rights do not apply to the purchase.

Blue Canoe

Blue Canoe is built on the Color Vowel Chart, a classroom tool that the US State Department distributes through its American English programme. Instead of phonetic symbols, the chart names each vowel sound with a colour word, and the app’s speech recognition uses that system. Its listing promises feedback “naming your errors and how to improve” across more than 3,000 words and sentences. It runs on iPhone but not iPad, on Apple silicon Macs and on Android, and the website offers a browser tool called Wordsmith for practising your own sentences.

It is also the smallest app on the list, with 64 ratings on the US App Store and none on the Spanish one. On its privacy label, audio data appears among the data linked to you, and purchases, identifiers and usage data among the data used to track you.

The free Basic tier is a card game covering 200 common words. All Access cost 5,99 € a month in Spain, and 24,99 € for either six months or a year, so on that storefront a year cost the same as six months. In the US the same three plans cost $9.99, $44.99 and $49.99.

Speechling

Speechling is the only app here where a person listens to you. You record a sentence, a coach records a correction, and it arrives within a day. A coach can point out grammar and word choice, or tell you that a sentence was correct and still hard to follow. No scorer on this list does that. Speechling describes itself as “a 501(c)3 educational nonprofit based in California, USA”, teaches ten languages, and has 669 ratings on the US App Store, averaging 4.8.

The free plan on its pricing page includes up to 10 coaching sessions a month, “excluding English, French, Chinese, and German”, so it does not cover English. Unlimited coaching is “from $19.99/month”, billed by Speechling. The iOS app dates from May 2021, so the website and the Android app are the maintained versions. Phonema vs Speechling compares a coach with a score in detail.

Phonema

Phonema is our app. It launched in July 2026 and has no ratings yet on either storefront.

You type or paste a sentence and say it. The app scores the attempt and highlights the word a listener would have missed. The scoring model ships inside the 329 MB download, so the recording never leaves the phone, there is no account, and scoring works in airplane mode. The App Store label shows no user content, only data not linked to you: an optional email address, coarse location, a device identifier and product interaction.

The reference pronunciations come from the CMU Pronouncing Dictionary, which describes American English. We have not measured how a British accent fares against it, so we do not present Phonema as accent-neutral.

It has no Android version, no lessons, no grammar and no human coach, and it needs iOS 17. Five analyses a day are free with no end date. After that it is 5,99 € a week, 39,99 € a year after a three-day trial, or 99,99 € once. Why on-device matters explains what the approach costs as well as what it gives.

It suits people who already know what they need to say, such as a talk or an interview answer, and want to check it without sending their voice anywhere.

Three apps come up in any App Store search for English pronunciation and fail our second condition. They may still work, but they are not being maintained.

  • (How to) Pronounce has 32,633 ratings averaging 4.8 on the US App Store and was last updated in February 2023.
  • Pronuncian has 4,694 ratings averaging 4.7 and was last updated in January 2024.
  • Say It: English Pronunciation, from Phona in Bristol, uses more than 70,000 recordings from Oxford and has British and American dictionaries of over 36,000 entries each. You record yourself and compare your sound wave with the Oxford model. It was last updated in July 2025, and the Google Play address that search engines still list returned “Not Found” on 17 September 2026. It still sells a 104,99 € annual subscription in Spain. If you want British English and can live with an app that is no longer updated, this is the one to try.

Neither the (How to) Pronounce listing nor the Pronuncian one mentions recording or scoring you, so both fail our first condition as well: they are pronunciation dictionaries you listen to.

Speaking apps that are not pronunciation apps

Duolingo, Speak and similar apps have speaking exercises, and many people install them for pronunciation. They are designed to get you talking, and their speech recognition is built to understand you despite an accent, so it lets through the errors a pronunciation app should flag. Speak does include a Pronunciation Coach in its paid plans. Why your English app does not correct your pronunciation explains the difference in detail.

Free, with nothing to buy

Google Translate. Since late April 2026, Translate has had a pronunciation practice feature that scores what you say and gives feedback such as “Some sounds were a little unclear”, according to TechCrunch. At launch it was only on Android, in the United States and India. Reports differ on whether English was included, so check in the app before you count on it.

YouGlish. YouGlish searches video captions, so you can hear a word said by dozens of real speakers in American, British or Australian English. It does not listen to you.

Your own phone. Record a paragraph, listen the next day, and compare doubtful words against a dictionary’s audio. Six ways to check your English pronunciation lists six checks, and most of them need no app.

How to choose

If offline feedback or keeping recordings on your phone decides the choice, see our dedicated offline and privacy-first pronunciation app comparison, with sources rechecked on 18 September 2026.

If this is you Use
You want one app for pronunciation, grammar and vocabulary ELSA Speak
You want lessons from people who coach actors BoldVoice
You are on Android ELSA, BoldVoice, Speakometer, Blue Canoe or Speechling
You want British English Speakometer
You have under 25 € for the year Speakometer, Accent Training or Blue Canoe
Intonation and rhythm are your weak point Accent Training
Your teacher uses the Color Vowel Chart Blue Canoe
You want a person to correct you Speechling
You practise without a connection Phonema or Speakometer
You do not want your recordings to leave the phone Phonema
You want to spend nothing at all YouGlish and your own recordings

Bottom line

ELSA and BoldVoice have the most ratings, run on Android and teach complete courses, so most learners should start with one of them. Both process your voice on their servers and say so in writing. If price, British English, a human coach or keeping your recordings on the phone matters more to you, the table above shows which app to try instead.

Every figure above is from 17 September 2026 and from the listings linked on this page. Apps change prices and policies without notice, so check the listing before you pay, including ours.

Related sounds